Angebote zu "Drawn" (5 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Lake in the Clouds , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 1460min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In her extraordinary novels Into the Wilderness and Dawn on a Distant Shore, award-winning writer Sara Donati deftly captured the vast, untamed wilderness of late-18th-century New York and the trials and triumphs of the Bonner family. Now Donati takes on a new and often overlooked chapter in our nation´s past - and in the life of the spirited Bonners - as their oldest daughter, the brave and beautiful Hannah, comes of age with a challenge that will change her forever. Masterfully told, this passionate story is a moving tribute to a resilient, adventurous family and a people poised at the brink of a new century. It is the spring of 1802, and the village of Paradise is still reeling from the typhoid epidemic of the previous summer. Elizabeth and Nathaniel Bonner have lost their two-year-old son, Hannah´s half brother Robbie, but they struggle on as always: the men in the forests, the twins Lily and Daniel in Elizabeth´s school, and Hannah as a doctor in training, apprenticed to Richard Todd. Hannah is descended from healers on both sides - one Scots grandmother and one Mohawk - and her reputation as a skilled healer in her own right is growing. After a long night spent attending to a birth, Elizabeth and Hannah encounter an escaped slave hiding on the mountain. She calls herself Selah Voyager, and she is looking for Curiosity Freeman - a former slave herself, one of the village´s wisest women and Elizabeth´s closest friend. The Bonners take Selah, desperately ill, to Lake in the Clouds to care for her, and with that simple act they are drawn into the secret life that Curiosity and Galileo Freeman and their grown children have been leading for almost 10 years. The Bonners will do what they must to protect the Freemans, just as Hannah will protect her patient, who presents more than one kind of challenge. For a bounty hunter is afoot - Hannah´s childhood friend and first love, Liam Kirby. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Kate Reading. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rand/001948/bk_rand_001948_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
This Green and Pleasant Land , Hörbuch, Digital...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Timely, humorous and deeply moving. This is the absolute standout new novel by acclaimed author (and 2018 Asian Woman of Achievement nominee) Ayisha Malik.For years Bilal Hasham and his wife, Mariam, have lived contented, quiet lives in the sleepy rural village of Babbel´s End. Now all that is about to change.On her deathbed, Bilal´s mother reaches for his hand. Instead of whispering her final prayers, she gives him a task: build a mosque in his country village.Mariam is horrified by Bilal´s plan. His friends and neighbours are unnerved. As outrage sweeps Babbel´s End, battle lines are drawn. His mother´s dying wish reveals deeper divisions in their village than Bilal had ever imagined.Soon Bilal is forced to choose between community and identity, between faith and friendship, between honouring his beloved mother´s last wish and preserving what is held dear in the place that he calls home. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Rita Sharma. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/bonn/000114/bk_bonn_000114_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
KILLER T , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 668min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

KILLER T is a synthetic virus with a 90 percent mortality rate, and the terrorists who created it want a billion dollars before they´ll release a vaccine. Terrifying. Romantic. Huge in scope. KILLER T is a story for our times. Harry and Charlie are teenagers whose lives are shaped by a society that´s shifting around them. He is a lonely Brit in his first term at a Las Vegas high school. She is an unlikely friend who gets accused of mixing a batch of explosives that blew up a football player.The two of them are drawn together at a time when gene editing technology is starting to explode. With a lab in the garage anyone can beat cancer, enhance their brain to pass exams or tweak a few genes for that year-round tan and perfect beach body. But in the wrong hands, cheap gene editing is the most deadly weapon in history. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Adam Sims. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/bonn/000030/bk_bonn_000030_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
The Familiars , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 546min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

To save her child, she will trust a stranger. To protect a secret, she must risk her life....Fleetwood Shuttleworth is 17 years old, married and pregnant for the fourth time. But as the mistress at Gawthorpe Hall, she still has no living child, and her husband, Richard, is anxious for an heir. When Fleetwood finds a letter she isn´t supposed to read from the doctor who delivered her third stillbirth, she is dealt the crushing blow that she will not survive another pregnancy. Then she crosses paths by chance with Alice Gray, a young midwife. Alice promises to help her give birth to a healthy baby and to prove the physician wrong. As Alice is drawn into the witchcraft accusations that are sweeping the North-West, Fleetwood risks everything by trying to help her. But is there more to Alice than meets the eye? Soon the two women´s lives will become inextricably bound together as the legendary trial at Lancaster approaches, and Fleetwood´s stomach continues to grow. Time is running out, and both their lives are at stake. Only they know the truth. Only they can save each other. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Katy Sobey. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/bonn/000063/bk_bonn_000063_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
The Secrets You Hide , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 643min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In her eyes, no-one is innocent.... Georgia Sage has a gift: she can see evil in people. As a courtroom artist she uses her skills to help condemn those who commit terrible crimes. After all, her own brutal past means she knows innocence is even rarer than justice. But when she is drawn back into the trial that defined her career, a case of twisted family betrayal, she realises her own reckless pursuit of justice may have helped the guilty go free.As Georgia gets closer to the truth behind the Fielding family, something happens that threatens not only her career but even her own sanity. At first, she fears her guilt around the events of her terrible childhood is finally coming back to haunt her. The truth turns out to be even more terrifying.... The Secrets You Hide is an ambitious rocket of a novel. Every layer, every twist, every revelation makes you question the very characters you thought you could trust and rethink a plot you thought you were beginning to unravel. A knockout listen for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Anatomy of a Scandal. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Emma Powell. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/bonn/000048/bk_bonn_000048_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot